Skip to main navigation.

SEC High School Seniors Earn Electric Co-op Scholarships



CONTACT: Allan Sharrett
Mgr., Public & Member Relations

(800) 552-2118, ext. 3211


Crewe, VA – (SEC) Five high school seniors whose families are served by Southside Electric Cooperative (SEC) were recently awarded scholarships from the Educational Scholarship Foundation of the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives (VMDAEC). Each co-op student received a $1,000 Worth M. Hudson Scholarship to be used for post-secondary education.

“SEC supports the VMDAEC Scholarship fund every year, and we’re excited to have five winners from right here in Southside’s service territory representing their co-op and their region proudly. These scholarships are more than just money — they represent opportunity — and that’s one of the most important roles we can play in the communities we serve,” noted Jeff Edwards, SEC president & CEO.

SEC’s 2014 Worth M. Hudson award winners are:

Joseph Barden, the son of Joey and Susan Barden of Powhatan. Joseph is a graduate of Powhatan High School and will attend Virginia Tech in the fall. (Photo attached)

Rubin Harvey, the son of Ann Moore of Kenbridge. Rubin is a graduate of Central High School and will attend Christopher Newport University in the fall. (Photo unavailable)

Destani Jackson, the daughter of Paula Branch of Cumberland. Destani is a graduate of Cumberland High School. (Photo attached)

Jaden Nichols, the daughter of Shawn and Shannon Howard of Charlotte Court House. Jaden is a graduate of Randolph-Henry High School and will attend Old Dominion University in the fall. (Photo attached)

Chelsie Townsend, the daughter of Jerry and Michelle Townsend of Meherrin. Chelsie is a graduate of Prince Edward County High School and will attend Radford University in the fall. Chelsie is also an alumna of SEC’s 2013 Electric Co-op Youth Tour in Washington, DC. (Photo attached)

This year’s scholarship winners were chosen out of a pool of 364 applicants from areas served by electric cooperatives in Virginia, Maryland and Delaware. The Foundation awarded a total of 55 Worth M.

Hudson Scholarships and six $1,000 endowed scholarships, named in honor of the first chair of the VMDAEC Educational Scholarship Foundation.

“We wish each of them the very best in their endeavors beyond high school, and we’re encouraged to know that these scholarships will be used to help them build a solid future for their families and their communities,” added Edwards.

Scholarship winners were selected though a competitive application process based on financial need, academic achievement and a written essay. To apply, students must be entering their first semester of college, technical or trade school in the autumn of that year, and are eligible for consideration because their parents are SEC members.

“We were able to award a record number of 61 scholarships thanks to donations from several VMDAEC member cooperatives that were matched by CoBank through their ‘Sharing Success’ Program,” said Roberta Harlowe, chair of VMDAEC’s Educational Services Committee who serves on the board of Central Virginia Electric Cooperative.

Since its inception in 2001, the Foundation has awarded 470 electric cooperative scholarships totaling $369,500. The number of scholarships awarded each year is based upon available funds, and these grants can be used to pay for tuition, fees and books.

Founded in 1944, VMDAEC is the trade association for Southside Electric Cooperative and 14 other electric co-ops that serve Virginia, Maryland and Delaware. Based in Glen Allen, Va., the Association provides safety and employee training, government relations and other services, including the publication of Cooperative Living magazine. For more information, please visit the “Community Resources” section of or

Headquartered in Crewe, Virginia, SEC is a member-owned distribution electric utility serving more than 45,000 members throughout southern and central Virginia. For more information about SEC, please visit us @, on Facebook @ or Twitter: @SouthsideEC.


Chelsie Townsend

Destani Jackson

Jaden Nichols

Joseph Barden

Rubin Harvet- (Not Picutred)